How I found my way to programming.

William Gomes
2 min readApr 16, 2021

--

Hi, my name is William I’m 22 years old and I am a front-end developer located in Toronto, Ontario. I’m an outgoing individual who’s always looking to try new things and explore different experiences everywhere I go. Growing up I never really had an interest in any one thing. I never even considered coding at all in high school, I actually wanted to become a pilot but since I had migraines I was not able to become a pilot. I like how meticulous you had to be to become a pilot, you need to follow lists, be organized, be quick thinking, and be methodical. So since I couldn’t become a pilot I decided to set out and find another career choice that can similarly reflect those traits about a pilot.

I didn’t think about coding immediately after that but I saw an ad to learn how to code with a free coding session with Juno College. I saw that as an opportunity to try something new. So after that coding session I saw something about coding I never knew about, I saw the freedom to do anything you want, organized code, methodical coding choices so the website looks really nice, and you need to follow rules similar to following lists. I really enjoyed the coding session that I decided that was what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. Now I am currently taking a web development boot-camp to improve my coding skills so that I can transfer those skills towards the workplace and I am very excited to finish and start my career as a front end web developer. Thanks for taking the time to read this and I hope it helped you gain some insight as to who I am and why I decided to become a web developer.

Take care,

-William

--

--